Network Partners


The network is supported by over 20 partner research institutions from across the country including:

  • Griffith University
  • University of Adelaide
  • Australian National University
  • Charles Darwin University
  • James Cook University
  • MDFRC/La Trobe
  • Melbourne University
  • Monash University
  • Murdoch University
  • Museum of Victoria
  • NSW Dept Climate Change
  • Qld University of Technology
  • SAWater
  • University of Canberra
  • University of Newcastle
  • University of New South Wales
  • University of Southern Qld
  • University of Tasmania
  • University of Technology Sydney
  • University of Western Australia
  • UniWater


The Network also has a regional node in each State and Territory that will bring together researchers from partner institutions and facilitate interaction with agency and industry stakeholders. The network proposal aims to facilitate an open exchange of information and sharing of resources among the partners.

The nodes will provide logistical support to facilitate interaction among research partners in each of the regions (e.g. for regular meetings, seminars, joint student supervision) and to support attendance of network members at meetings and conferences. The regional nodes will also provide a strong physical presence ("shopfront") and point of contact for engagement with industry partners (e.g. state and local government agencies) and the public, and ensure that issues addressed are relevant in a regional context.

The network aims to be inclusive and facilitate open exchange of information and sharing of resources among the water research community in Australia. Additional partners will be able to support activities coordinated by the host institution within their geographic region, fill gaps in expertise and broaden the reach of the network into government and industry. Please contact Stuart Bunn or Brendan Edgar if you wish to find out more information about becoming a network partner.