State Government

The state and territory governments in Australia play a role framing adaptation actions through regulations and policy directions, especially in planning for towns and cities.  The relationship between the state and local governments is also a critical component in developing and supporting local and regional adaptation actions.

The state and territory governments are also part of the Council of Australian Governments (COAG), The role of COAG is to initiate, develop and monitor the implementation of policy reforms that are of national significance and which require cooperative action by Australian governments. In 2007 the Council of Australian Governments (COAG) agreed to the National Climate Change Adaptation Framework (PDF 328kb) to begin to address key demands from business and the community for targeted information on climate change impacts and adaptation options. NCCARF arose from the COAG process which created the Framework.

NCCARF interacts regularly with the state and territory governments through the Forum for NCCARF interaction with states and territories (FORNSAT).  

Jurisdiction and agency website 
Key website for climate change adaptation
Australian Capital Territory    ACT Weathering the Change – Draft Action Plan 2
New South Wales   NSW Adapting to climate change
Northern Territory   NT Climate Change Policy
Queensland   Climate Change: Adaptation for Queensland Issues Paper
South Australia   SA Adapting to Climate Change
Tasmania   Tasmania Adapting to Climate Change Impacts
Victoria   Victorian Climate Change Adaptation Program (VCCAP)
Western Australia   Climate research and development