NCCARF Climate Adaptation Champions

Climate Adaptation Champions of 2014

A nationwide search is on to share the stories of Australian people, businesses and organisations who are champions of practical and innovative ways to adapt to climate change. 

Australia’s National Climate Change Adaptation Research Facility (NCCARF) launched the annual Climate Adaptation Champions Awards in 2011 to highlight the achievements of people taking concrete steps to change behaviour, techniques, businesses practices and policies to adapt to an uncertain future.

Our winners of 2014 announced

This year we had four Champions and four Highly Commended organisations and individuals. Congratulations to everyone who was nominated for their tremendous efforts! We are once again absolutely impressed by the outstanding people working towards climate adaptation, and are so grateful for their work.

We proudly present the Climate Adaptation Champions of 2014:

Business category

Highly commended: Treasury Wine Estates

Champion: Yalumba Wine Company

Government (State) category:

Highly commended:  Impacts and Adaptation Team, New South Wales Office of Environment and Heritage

Champion: Victorian Adaptation and Sustainability Partnership – Victorian Department of Environment and Primary Industries

Government (Local) category:

Highly commended: Sydney Coastal Councils Group

Champion: Resilient South (Cities of Holdfast Bay, Marion, Mitcham and Onkaparinga)

Individual category:

Highly commended: Kendal McGuffie

Champion: Mark Baker-Jones

Read more about our Champions and their more


About the awards

NCCARF Director Professor Jean Palutikof invites the public to nominate people and groups from any sectors or region who champion climate adaptation to be recognised though the 2014 Awards. 

“You may know of people in your community, a volunteer group, a company or a government organisation that is finding new ways to manage climate impacts on their business or community.” she said. “We want to hear about them and celebrate their initiative.”

Champions will be chosen in four categories: Individual, Community, Business and Government.

Champions could be:

• Excellent communicators or educators, actively communicating the knowledge needed for climate change adaptation;

• people, groups and governments actively involved in making decisions that take climate change impacts into account;

• leaders in their field, helping others to adapt to a changing climate, or

• inventors, designers and businesses leading the way with creative ways to adapt.

Professor Palutikof said nominees could be from all ages and backgrounds. “For example, our 2013 Champions included a farmer from South Australia providing service to NRM groups and farm communities, a community organisation building community resilience, a government-local government association partnership developing adaptation plans and a water industry group 'futureproofing' a large water supply service.”

“There is growing awareness among the Australian public about the threat climate change poses. The Champions are evidence that people at all levels of the community are getting on with the job of adapting to climate change,” Professor Palutikof said.

More information

Nominations closed on 30 June 2014. Champions will be notified shortly afterwards. 

Champions will receive free registration and travel for the Climate Adaptation 2014 Conference at the Gold Coast (30 September - 02 October 2014), where the Champions will be announced and receive their awards.

For more information, contact us at


More Information

Use the links below to navigate recent Adaptation Champion profiles. These profiles can be used to have a closer look at past Adaptation Champions, engage with multimedia content, and link to further information about the Adaptation Champions. 


2014 NCCARF Climate Adaptation Champions

Business: Yalumba Wine Company

Government (State): Victorian Adaptation and Sustainability Partnership, Victorian Department of Environment and Primary Industries

Government (Local): Resilient South (Cities of Holdfast Bay, Marion, Mitcham and Onkaparinga)

Individual: Mark Baker-Jones

Read more about their more 

2013 NCCARF Climate Adaptation Champions

Individual: Brian Foster for his continued service to NRM groups and farm communities on the Eyre Peninsula.

Business: Sydney Water for incorporating climate risks into their long term planning to deliver water to more than 4 million people annually.

Government: South Australia State Government and South Australia Local Government Association for their partnership in the SA Climate Adaptation program which has shown long term commitment to enact climate adaptation policies for South Australia.

Community: Green Cross for the Harden Up Program providing innovative online resources to assist Queenslanders to prepare for and manage severe weather events.


2012 NCCARF Climate Adaptation Champions

IndividualLucinda Corrigan, Rennylea Pastoral Company for ‘Leadership of adaptation to climate change in Australia’s grazing industries’.

Business: Metcash Trading Ltd for its ‘Sustainability @ Metcash’ climate adaptation program.

Government: Department of Primary Industries, Victoria for its ‘Climate Extension Services‘ program.

Community: The ‘Making connections: landholders restoring connectivity in the Wet Tropics’ project.

2011 NCCARF Climate Adaptation Champions

A Queensland farmer, a Tasmanian journalist and a council planner from mid-coast NSW were among NCCARF’s first Climate Adaptation Champions.

Sid Plant - Farmer, Dowling Downs, QLD

Norm Lenehan — Coastal & Flood Management Planner, Eurobodalla Shire Council, NSW 

Peter Boyer — Journalist, blogger and speaker-presenter, Hobart, Tas

Lake Macquarie City Council, NSW

City of Melbourne, Vic

Climate Champion Initiative (A program of Managing Climate Variability and Grains Research Development Corporation)